Ten Ways to Open Your Heart – Pt. 4: Pray without Ceasing

Standard
Ten Ways to Open Your Heart – Pt. 4: Pray without Ceasing

Before reading, know that these ideas are my own and are not going to appeal to everyone.

The definition of prayer is an invocation to a higher power; a solemn request for help or expression of thanks addressed to God or an object of worship. Prayer is a method in which someone establishes his or her connection with God. I believe prayer is a powerful tool and a comforting method of communication. Over the years, I have worked to improve my method of prayer and my belief that it works; I am still working on it.

There was a time in my life where I was at my lowest; it was after my second miscarriage. I lost faith in everything. I remember talking to my mother on the phone and she told me, “Christina, God will fix it. Everything will be alright and He will always be there for you.” I remember thinking that cannot be true, for my heart is broken. Her last words before we hung up were, “Don’t give up on God. Don’t ever, ever give up on Him.” After time passed, my emotional wounds began to heal, my life began to change, and I began to have more faith than I had before. Then, on June 27, 2012, I was blessed with a baby girl. I had no idea that I was pregnant. An unrelated trip to the emergency room resulted in the doctor telling me the unbelievable news. My mother’s words rang true. God was there for me; He came through.

Prayer is something that we are taught and changes throughout our lives. Other times we discover it on our own. Regardless of how it is discovered, the most important thing to remember is: never stop talking to God. Additionally, it is important to use prayer not just for the things that we feel we need. Prayer is a way to thank God for what He has already done in your life. I have learned that prayer is a method of communication, not just a request line. If you open your heart, you will be able to experience a connection like no other. One filled with unconditional love and understanding.


“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives…”

Colossians 1:9 – New International Version

Leave a Reply! I look forward to hearing from you!

